Email Things and Stuff

So this module was all about Emails. I dont necessarily mean just emails themselves but everything that pertains to emails as well, like, your inbox, sent mail, folders within your email, tabs, etc. Well Gmail has made emailing way easy. It allows you to filter through emails, place them under specific tabs, see what emails are in a mailing list, and lots more.

Filtering is extremely helpful when dealing with your email. I work at the department in which I am getting my degree, because of that, not only do I get emails for students from the university and emails from my teachers for our class, but also emails from all teachers within the department. So I like the filtering option because it makes it where I can put all emails from the Univeristy in one place, all emails from my teacher in one place, and then all emails from work in one place.

The way you filter your email is by going to the settings, which you can find in the upper right hand corner of the page, its the cog shaped button. Then once it takes you settings there is a tab labeled “Filters and Blocked Objects”, click on it. Then go to “Create New Filter”. You can filter based on who the email is from,  to who you send, the subject line, any email that contains certain words, if it doesn’t have something, if it has attachments or if its a specific size. After you have chosen what to filter, you press ” Create Filter within the Search”. Then you will tell it where to filter it to, what tab or folder.

Emails, as we know are used for communication, usually in professional settings. Most people use email to communicate with a boss, a coworker, a teacher, another business, potential employer/employee. Because of this we need to make sure we are mainting a professional image even in email. If your looking for some useful tools to make sure you are keeping up a professional image and communicating clearly see David Masters post titled How to Write Clear and Professional Emails. Below is an example of a professional and clear email.

 

Mr./Mrs./Dr. (Enter Name),

My name is Ashton Allen, I am a student in your CA 260 class that meets on Mondays at 6:00 p.m. You are a wonderful instructor and I thank you for he knowledge you have shared with us thus far in the class. I am writing to let you know that I will have to leave class early today because of an engagement I have to attend. I do hope you will understand and I will be writing you tomorrow to ask for any missed information. I apologize for any distraction my leaving might cause.

Thank you,

Ashton Allen

 

Leave a Reply

